2019 Winners

It is with a heavy heart and profound empathy for the difficulty and uncertainty small businesses throughout New Zealand are currently facing that we have decided not to hold The David Awards 2020.

We know that small businesses will be facing enormous challenges and that what the future holds will differ for each of you. For some, the painful reality is that nothing will save your current business. For others, Covid-19 presents opportunities which didn’t previously exist and you may be struggling to adapt and keep up. Many will fall between these two extremes, but wherever your business sits, we have no doubt you have far bigger things on your mind right now - and rightly so - than entering awards. 

What we also know, from more than a decade of small and home businesses sharing their challenges and successes with us, is that small businesses are agile, resilient, creative and very necessary to New Zealand. Every year entrants have demonstrated how, after immense adversity, they have picked themselves up and dusted themselves off, taken a long, hard look at their situation, the challenges and opportunities, adapted what they are doing and stepped up to the mark. Their nimbleness, determination and perseverance have been invaluable in equipping them for the fray. And they have come out the other side stronger, wiser and having found ways to conquer the obstacles or circumvent the roadblocks they encountered along the way.

Like you, many of the judges and organisers of The David Awards are fighting fires in their own businesses and employment situations. We understand not only the stress of steering a business through this time of change and upheaval, but the huge toll it takes at a personal level too.

We would, however, like to share an observation with you. The high number of business failures in the small and home business sector is often cited - and misinterpreted - as a sign of how fragile this sector is. We say to you it is actually a sign of its resilience, because if one bothers to dig a little deeper the picture which emerges is not one of a business failing, but often of a business morphing into something else. Something which is built of sterner stuff and based on a little more experience.

We know you need time to evaluate, plan, tackle the challenges and even heal. In recognition of the extraordinary times we are facing together at present, we are dedicating The David Awards 2020 to all small business owners throughout Aotearoa.

And we want you to know each and every one of you is a true “David” in our eyes.

You are not alone, we know you are resilient and there is light at the end of the tunnel, whether you can see it now or not.

We salute you.

Finally, we encourage you to draw on help which is available.

Overview of support for employers and the self-employed
Overview of other financial support
Overview of some mental health support and tools here and here
Official Covid-19 information

We expect to be back bigger and better than ever in 2021 and look forward to hearing some amazing stories of triumph and fortitude then. In the meantime, be kind to yourselves and each other.

Kia Kaha.

Heather and the Team at The David Awards.

To be notified when The David Awards 2021 opens for entries, please sign up to our newsletter.

Startup sweeps top small business award

A business which started selling home-made bone broth at markets just 18 months ago has taken out the top spot in The David Awards 2019.

The Little Bone Broth Company founder, Alex Watson, said the win was “Awesome!” 

“It is rare for the Supreme Award to go to a Fledgling business,” said Judge, Pam Martin, “but Alex has done everything right.” He had created an exceptional business which had long-term potential in local, national and international markets, she said. “The Little Bone Broth Company is a true David, and a worthy winner!” 

Commenting further on the win, Watson confessed, “I really do love it but, oh my word, it’s been so challenging. At times it’s almost too much … so for something like this to pop up, it’s just incredible!”

Winners for 2019 are: 

Supreme Winner

The Little Bone Broth Company littlebonebroth.co.nz

Most outstanding fledgling business           

Winner

The Little Bone Broth Company littlebonebroth.co.nz

 

Finalists

Tradie HR tradiehr.co.nz

Little Lunches littlelunches.co.nz

Sense Data sensedata.co.nz

Bento Ninja bentoninja.co.nz

 

Most outstanding established business

Winner

Pocketspace Interiors pocketspaceinteriors.com

 

Finalists

Career Matters careermatters.co.nz

Stolen Bike Catering stolenbike.co.nz

 

Most outstanding triumph over adversity 

Winner

NopeSisters Clothing nopesisters.com

 

Finalists

A+ Physio aplusphysio.co.nz

Flow Marketing NZ flow.co.nz

Squoodles squoodles.co.nz

Paintvine paintvine.co.nz

 

Most innovative business

Winner

Puhoi Organic Distillery www.spirits.net.nz

 

Finalists

Chia Sisters chia.co.nz

Stay Well Pharmacy staywellpharmacy.com

 

Most inspired use of marketing

Winner

Paintvine paintvine.co.nz

Finalists

She Owns It sheownsit.co.nz

Lauren Parsons Wellbeing Specialists laurenparsons.co.nz

Bento Ninja bentoninja.co.nz

 

Solo Meo Award 

Joint Winners

Tree Gifts NZ treegifts.co.nz

Bento Ninja bentoninja.co.nz

 

Finalists

Mud Mates mudmates.co.nz

Eskimo Nell eskimo-nell.com

Lauren Parsons Wellbeing Specialists laurenparsons.co.nz

Career Matters careermatters.co.nz

 

Most community-minded business

Winner

Stolen Bike Catering stolenbike.co.nz

 

Finalists

Sense Data sensedata.co.nz

Australasian Leadership Institute ali.org.nz

 

People’s Choice Award

Little Lunches littlelunches.co.nz